LightStep

LightStep [𝑥]PM Documentation

Welcome to the LightStep developer hub. You'll find comprehensive guides and documentation to help you start working with LightStep [𝑥]PM as quickly as possible, as well as support if you get stuck. Let's jump right in!

Get Started    

Role-based Access Control

LightStep uses role-based access control for user management. All LightStep users are assigned a role upon joining an organization.

Currently, there are 3 available roles: Admin, Member, and Viewer. Each role comes with different permission access levels to different parts of the product. These are summarized below:

Admin
Member
Viewer

View Explorer

✔️

✔️

✔️

View Dashboards, Streams, Conditions and Destinations

✔️

✔️

✔️

View Project Settings

✔️

✔️

✔️

Create, Edit or Delete Dashboards

✔️

✔️

Create, Edit or Delete Streams

✔️

✔️

Create, Edit, or Delete Conditions and Destinations

✔️

✔️

Edit Project Settings

✔️

✔️

View or Edit Organization Settings

✔️

Create, Edit, or Delete Projects

✔️

Create, Edit, or Delete Users

✔️

Create, Edit, or Delete Whitelisted Domains

✔️

Create or Delete API Keys

✔️

Use cases for each role

Role
Common Usage

Admin

Only a few members of an organization should be assigned the "Admin" role. Typically, these people are LightStep power users and understand different parts of the product well.

Member

Most people should be assigned this role. It allows full create/edit/delete access to the monitoring, alerting, and live view capabilities inside LightStep without allowing access to the organization settings (create/edit/delete projects and user).

Viewer

New and onboarding members of an organization should be assigned this role to prevent them from inadvertently modifying existing dashboards or alerts. Temporary users should also use this role.

Updating a User's Role

Only Admins can view and update a user's role. To do so, navigate to the "Account Settings" page via the LightStep sidebar:

On the "Account Settings" page, you should see a section for organization settings if you are an Admin:

Change a user's role by selecting a different role from the drop down:

You can also update the default role assigned to new users when they join the organization: