Once you create alerts, you can view them from one place to see a general status of all alerts. If you need to pause an alert, you can snooze it for a defined period of time. You can also edit and delete alerts.

Once you create alerts, you can view them from one place to see a general status of all alerts. You can also delete alerts from here.

View Alerts

You can get a quick overview of alerts and if they are in compliance or not, from the Alerts page. Open the Alerts page by clicking Alerts from the navigation bar.

Alerts tab

By default, the Alerts view lists all alerts by their status, with those in violation at the top. Alerts can have the following statuses:

  • Red/Alert: The alert is in violation of the Alert threshold.

  • Green/OK: The alert is active and is currently in a non-triggered state. All inbound traffic is being analyzed against the criteria you have set over the defined evaluation window.
  • Grey/Unknown: The alert has been created but it’s not yet in an active monitoring state. If the alert remains grey after a few minutes, try refreshing your browser window to fetch the most up-to-date alert state.
  • Greyed out: The alert is active within Lightstep, but is currently in a snoozed state. This means that ingested traffic is being analyzed against the criteria defined in the alert, but alerts will not be generated if a threshold is breached.

You can filter alerts by name, status, date, or alert type.

Click on an alert to open it.

Delete an Alert

To delete an alert, from the Alerts view use the gear icon to choose Delete.

Alerts tab

Edit an Alert

You can edit an alert from the Stream.

To edit an alert:

  1. From the Alerts view, click the alert to open the corresponding Stream.

  2. Click Alerts to open the Alert panel, then click on the alert to edit. You can add a destination from here. Alert panel on a Stream

  3. To change the configuration of the alert, use the gear icon to select Edit.Edit alert

  4. Edit the alert as needed.

  5. When done, click Save Changes.

Snooze an Alert

There may be times when you don’t want alerts to be sent, but you do want to keep the alert. You can snooze the alert and Lightstep pauses analysis of data against the threshold for the designated period of time (in seconds, minutes, hours, or days).

To snooze an alert:

  1. From the Alerts view, click the alert to open the corresponding Stream.

  2. Click Alerts to open the Alert panel, then click on the alert to edit. Alert panel on a Stream

  3. Click Snooze and select the amount of time to snooze the alert, or enter a custom time period.

    The status of the alert is set as Snoozed. On the Alerts view, the alert is grayed out and displays a Snooze icon. Hovering over the icon shows a tooltip with the snooze expiration time. Snooze icon

    To remove the snooze, click Edit Snooze and Remove.