By default, Lightstep stores your span data for 28 days, meaning views like Snapshots and Streams are available for that period of time. Depending on your Lighstep plan, you can increase that time up to 2 years. Or if your company has a data retention and compliance policy, you can change that time to reflect the allowable maximum age of your data. Any traces or Snapshots older than that age are deleted and no longer available.
Only Admin-level users can set the data retention policy.
To set the data retention policy for Lightstep:
From the Navigation Bar, click Project Settings.
In the Data Retention area, set the number of days Lightstep should retain your data. Changes may take up to 24 hours to take affect.
When data retention settings are enabled, all traces, snapshots, and other raw trace data written outside of the retention period will be deleted. This data is non-recoverable.
If you need to delete data from a time period within your data retention plan, contact our Customer Success team, who can manually delete that data.